Mid-Year Freak Out TAG!!

So it’s about the middle of the year. So that means I’m checking my progress on my Goodreads challenge. And honestly I am very sad. I have only read 11 books so far. This summer turned out to be busier than I had anticipated so I only have time to read on weekends. So without any further ado, here is a TAG where I can talk about what I have read so far:

The best book you’ve read so far in 2017

Hands down, I have to say “Alex and Eliza” by Melissa De La Cruz. I already love the hit musical Hamilton, so a book dedicated to Alex and Eliza’a love story excited me to no end and I loved it! It fulfilled a need I didn’t know I had. It was an easy read and I finished within a few days. You can read my whole review here.

Image result for alex and eliza

Your favorite sequel of the year

Well, the only sequel I have read this year was “A Viscount’s Proposal” by Melanie Dickerson. But I really enjoyed it. I got strong Pride and Prejudice vibes from it. I think I liked it better than the first book. Read my review here.

a-viscounts-proposal

A new release that you haven’t read but really want to

I really would like to read “Always and Forever Lara Jean” but alas, I haven’t even read the first two books yet. I’ll get there I promise.

Image result for always and forever lara jean

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

I am really excited for “A Dangerous Engagement” by Melanie Dickerson. This will the the third installment in the series mentioned above (A Viscount’s Proposal). I wonder if this book will have a Jane Austen vibe like the last one. Read my post about this new installment here.

A Dangerous Engagement

Your biggest disappointment

I guess I could say “Milk and Honey” was my greatest disappointment, but don’t get me wrong. I didn’t hate the book at all. It was something new I was trying out and wasn’t thrilled. I may need to re read it. My review is here.

Image result for milk and honey

Biggest surprise of the year

For this one I would have to say “Geekerella” by Ashley Poston. I went into this book with some reservations. There are tons of Cinderella re-tellings and I wasn’t ready to get my hopes up. But this book was so much more. It was also about the power of Fandom. Read all my thoughts here.

Image result for geekerella

Favorite new to you or debut author

I think this one goes to Melissa De La Cruz. I loved her writing style in “Alex and Eliza” so I wouldn’t mind giving another of her books a chance.

Your new fictional crush

Darien from “Geekerella”. He is so relatable and funny. And if he were my boyfriend, I know he would be there for me. We could talk about our respective fandoms and it would be wonderful!

New favorite character

Eliza from “Alex and Eliza”. I already loved Eliza in Hamilton, but her character in this book has made me love her more. I find that I can relate to her character as well.

A book that made you cry

Ummm, I don’t think I have read a book yet that has made me cry this year. But stay tuned, I may yet.

A book that made you happy

All of them! lol. I guess “The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe” made me really happy. I have enjoyed the movie for years and I finally got around to reading the story. I will have my review of all the books up as soon as I finish all of them.

Your favorite book to movie adaptation that you’ve seen this year

I guess Pride and Prejudice. It’s the only one I can think of anyway.

The most beautiful book you have bought/received this year

I bought another copy of “Little Women” because of the cover. I couldn’t resist the discounted price and it will look nice on my Instagram.

Image result for little women puffin classics

What are some books you need to read by the end of the year

Oh man, so many. I will leave a short list here:

  • “The Book Thief”
  • “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before”
  • “Anna and the French Kiss”
  • “Everything Everything”
  • “A Voice in the Wind”

I think this TAG has increased my book-reading panic lol. Hopefully I can inspire myself to read more and stay off the internet. Let me know in the comments what your favorite book was so far this year?

 

 

Leave a Reply

