Book Review: The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest

This is the first book in Melanie Dickerson’s Thornbeck series. This is also the first book of Melanie’s that I read and I loved it more than I thought. I had read that these books are fairy tale retellings and are written in medieval times so I could not resist buying this one; when I was done I was searching online to get the rest of her books.

Image result for the huntress of thornbeck forest

Rating: 5/5

This book is about a girl named Odette, she hunts illegally to feed the poor and she is taken care of by her rich Uncle. Luckily for her, he doesn’t force her to get married right away. However, she soon begins to fall in love with a man named Jorgen.

Jorgen is not poor, but he is not rich either and he is the one responsible for catching the poacher in the king’s forest. At the fair he meets Odette and begins falling in love with her and her kind spirit. But he doesn’t know she is the one he has been hunting the whole time, and her uncle doesn’t seem to be who he is either.

First, i’m gonna talk about the cover. Don’t get me wrong, I love the cover and the detail is really pretty. It’s just the fact that the girl’s face is cut off. I have so many books like that; the whole Serenity Inn series for example. I guess I’m just a little tired of seeing that kind of cover.

Anyway, I loved Jorgen so much! (His name is a bit weird but oh well.) His anger toward poachers made me nervous for Odette’s life. It was so sweet when Jorgen was watching Odette read and teach the little kids. Then later in the book when he shoots her with an arrow I was listless. You could tell he was so sorry but then very angry that she turned out being the poacher. Even after all that he was willing to try to help her. I gave this book five of five stars. I recommend this book with two thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

