Book Review: Anne of Green Gables

While I waited for “The Noble Servant” to arrive in my mailbox (It did come today yay!) I decided to re-read a classic. At least, I am pretty sure I’ve read “Anne of Green Gables” before. If not, then I officially have and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Image result for anne of green gables hardcover book

Rating: 5/5

This is a story (based in Canada) about a little red-haired orphan girl named Anne Shirley and how she came to live with Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert (who are brother and sister I found out. For years I assumed they were married). This first book tells about all the little scrapes Anne gets herself in and fills our brains with her many imaginings and “thrills”. She finds friends, kindred spirits, and enjoys life to the fullest. She feels things to the fullest be it disappointments or gladness.

I remember watching most of the movie series they made a while back so I knew the story and how it all ends. (I also fell in LOVE with Gilbert). One thing I didn’t know was that this was a story based in Canada.

I find that I can relate to Anne quite a bit. My imagination is not as well developed as hers and I don’t find myself in many scrapes, but her love for life and her love for writing I can relate to. She tends to think the best in people until they prove otherwise and I relate to how she hates her hair. She notices things that no one else seems to see and I think I am also one of those people.  And one thing that I never thought about before … What was her life like before Marilla and Matthew? We get a small glimpse of it and I think it is safe to assume she may have been abused a bit (with the drunk guy and the yelling) and yet she came out just fine in the end with her imagination in tact and her love for people.

Of course one of the best moments of the book is when Anne meets Gilbert Blythe.

Image result for anne of green gables gif

Ah yes, love at first … smack? And it isn’t until the last page of the book that she tells him that she forgives him. 4 years hating him. You gotta admire her dedication. Anne Shirley is also quite dramatic.

Image result for anne of green gables gif

Hashtag relatable.

I also found that all through the book, Anne could be quite profound! Little things she said and thought made so much sense and could be a great comfort. Such as, “Tomorrow is always fresh with no mistakes in it.”

Of course I shed a few tears when precious Matthew died. But the tears didn’t come until Anne cried. He never said much but was incredibly lovable.

I highly recommend this book to everyone! It is an easy read with so many childish antics that I think everyone can relate to on some level. It makes me want to watch the movies again. Also, if you haven’t heard, Netflix is coming out with a new Anne of Green Gables series. So you can check that out when it releases in a few days. I do plan on reading the rest of this series but it is going to be a while. For now, you can look forward to “The Noble Servant” review coming soon.

Leave a Reply

