Book Review: Alex and Eliza

This book released early April of this year (2017) and when I heard about it, I knew I had to get my hands on it. I have been a huge fan of the hit musical Hamilton for a long time  I think I can say that the song “Helpless” is my favorite of all. And this book is all about their love story.

Image result for alex and eliza

Rating: 5/5

Eliza Hamilton is the sensible one of the Schuyler trio. She always imagined having the romantic love story and living happily. But being part of the Schuyler clan meant marrying for riches, not rags. But when Alexander Hamilton comes onto the scene, things change. At first, Eliza hates Hamilton and does everything to make his life miserable. But Hamilton made up his mind to woo her.

As I read this book I discovered the perfect song to describe the story. “Belle” from Beauty and the Beast (2017). I was listening to the song in the car recently and realized the book and song described each other perfectly!

I really appreciated each chapter having its own title. I have really missed that added detail in books. I love getting a feel for the chapter with a clever little title. For example, one chapter is accurately titled “Knight in Shining Armor” Points to Melissa De La Cruz for those.

I had only made it to Chapter 2 and I already related to Eliza. Her practicality and her belief that a girl shouldn’t have to dress herself up to the extent of changing herself to get a guy to like her and how she tends to stay in the background in social situations describes me as well.

The story also kept me captivated until the very end. Just when I thought that the book would plateau till the end, I was surprised with a twist to keep the plot moving. The book could have ended several times at around the half-way point but then something else would change. I loved watching Alex fall for Eliza more and more. I stopped and squealed more than a couple of times.

I didn’t find much of anything to dislike about the book. The only thing is that occasionally I wasn’t sure who was speaking but that could be that I was reading too fast. And my confusion was quickly resolved. There was also a part in Chapter 3 where Hamilton reflects back to how he came to America. I had mixed feelings about it being there. On one hand I didn’t mind the extra info, but on the other hand, not sure if it added to the story. I leave it to the reader to decide. I also was just a little disappointed in Angelica. She was too mean for my taste.

All in all, I HIGHLY recommend this book to fans of Hamilton. This book has increased my appreciation for both characters and affirms my belief that Alex would be nothing without Eliza.

Image result for alex and eliza

So what’s next? I’m going to get to Geekerella as soon as I can; but it might have to wait until after final exams.

Leave a Reply

