Book Review: Lost In A Book

This book released in January of this year (2017). And as soon as I saw the cover I knew I had to get my hands on it. The cover designer for this book did a top-notch job.

Lost In a Book

Rating: 2.5/5

In summary, Belle is trapped in the Beast’s castle and she constantly wonders why she is there. A little bit of time has passed since the Beast saved Belle from the wolves and the Beast has given Belle the library. As she explores the library, a book no one has seen before appears. It is a portal to Nevermore, a world where anything Belle could dream of comes true. But everything is not as it seems as Belle learns to see with her heart.

Ok, so over all, I left this book fine. The ending was satisfying and most of the book was well done. I was not fangirling at the end but I was not dissatisfied either.

What I liked was that this book did some things that the live-action movie could not do. It went into a bit of detail as to how Belle learned to see the Beast with her heart and learn to like him. I like how in this book we get to see more of her curious mind and she asks questions we didn’t know needed asking. We see a bit of daily castle life and a few of the major moments shown in the film. I liked the Beast in this book; he was realistically reserved and it took real time for him to open up. Chip was adorable and like most kids, will say what other adults are afraid to say. I also adore Mrs. Potts.

The main thing the author added to the book was a deeper understanding of why the Beast was cursed. We see two characters, Love and Death, as they wager if the Beast will end up learning to love or not. Death places Nevermore to place the odds more in her favor. And one of the things I didn’t like in the book were the scenes of Belle in Nevermore. I was anxious for her to go back to the castle. Also, I think Cogsworth’s character was a little too negative.

If you are looking for something to add to your Beauty and the Beast obsession, I would recommend reading this. The book did not ruin the movie for me. It is also a quick read (I finished this in about three days).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

