How-To: Read While in School

Sadly, summer doesn’t last forever and school must start up again. If you’re anything like me, you took advantage of the summer and read books to your heart’s content. This summer I have managed to read 18 books. However with the pressure of homework and school projects, reading falls to the background.

However, there is a way to keep up a reading habit while still getting homework done.

1. Choose smaller books

smaller books are completed faster and are easier to carry around.

2. MAKE time to read every day

or whenever you choose. Usually I’ll make a goal to read 50 pages per day (or when life gets really busy I will lower it to 50 per week). But the key is to set aside the time. A good time is right before bed so you can get good and tired and fall asleep faster. Maybe for you it’s better to read a chapter every morning. Sometimes I read while I eat if I have the time. Whatever works best for you, do it.

3. Read wherever you are

For me, I have several hours in between classes this semester. So, I can either stay in my car or go to the school library and read for an hour. If you have a study hall I recommend finishing your immediate homework and then spend some time with a book. Vacation time is also a great time to read. If you are traveling for spring break, bring a couple books along to keep you occupied.

Before you know it, you will have read more than you thought you could during school. Here is a list of books that I recommend to get you started:

1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

2. Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis

3. Austenland by Shannon Hale

4. The Bridge by Karen Kingsbury

5. Miracle at the Higher Grounds Cafe by Max Lucado

6. When Calls the Heart by Janette Oke

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

