Book Review: The Princess Bride

My first exposure to this story was the movie based off the book. A friend of mine asked me if I had seen it, and when I told her I hadn’t, she made me watch it. And I loved it! Years later as I walk through Barns & Noble, I found the book itself!

As far as movie to book adaptations go: This one is pretty spot on. I have no complaints on that score.

First off, if you plan to get the book, get the abridged version by William Goldman; you will thank me later.

The only bits Goldman took out were parts where there are close to 70 pages dedicated to the description of clothes or trees. Even with these cuts, the book flows very smoothly. I had no trouble at all keeping up.

The story is about a girl named Buttercup and her farm boy. But when he dies at sea, Buttercup agrees to marry the Prince in a loveless union. There are abductions, revenge plots, a Zoo of Death, and one miracle Max keeping the story intriguing. Through the course of the story we learn two things: One, that love conquers all; and two, that life isn’t fair.

I read a few chapters of The Princess Bride to my brother (who by the way is a huge book snob) and I caught him trying to read my book in secret. That’s how good this is. I give this book two thumbs up and would recommend this story to everyone. I found The Princess Bride in the Science Fiction section of Barns & Noble.

Leave a Reply

