Book Review: A Spy’s Devotion

Honestly, after reading “Let It Snow” I was in a miniature reading slump. I didn’t feel like reading anything and even after picking up this book I wasn’t very into it. However, this book ended up being just what I needed to get out of the slump. Now I am ready to read some more.

“A Spy’s Devotion” is another of Melanie Dickerson’s work. But, this is part of her regency spies of London series. (She has three series in total: the London spies, and two fairy-tale retellingย seriesย set in Germany). This book is the first in the London spies series.

a-spys-devotionJulia is an orphan who was taken in by her aunt and uncle. She has tried her whole life to conform to societies’ demands and make her family proud. But it turns out that hasn’t really helped at all. Julia’s Uncle is forcing her to marry a man she doesn’t love and her cousin Phoebe is in love with Mr, Langdon, someone Julia has come to care for.

Nicholas Langdon is investigating a potential murder and eventually enlists Julia’s help. Julia’s uncle may be plotting against a great British General.

Honestly, at first I wasn’t paying much attention to reading (mainly because of the slump) and because this book had a different feel to it. I can’t really explain it but it felt different from the other books I have read by Melanie. A little over half way through, however, I was hooked and intrigued.

I have also been recently thinking about happy endings. And I even considered that maybe some books should not have typical happy endings, maybe it will not end badly, but certainly not how you think it will. I for sure thought this was gonna be one of those. But I was pleasantly surprised.

The characters in this book were very well developed. Not a character was wasted and each had his or her purpose to the story.

I would recommend this book to someone just getting started in the mystery/spy genre.

Melanie’s second book in the London spies series is coming out soon “The Viscount’s Proposal”. So I recommend reading thisย as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

