Book Review: Me Before You

After I saw the movie trailer for Me Before You I had to pick up the book and read it. I was pretty excited as I knew it was about a girl helping a quadriplegic see the best in life. Louisa Clark just lost her job so when an opportunity to become a caregiver comes up, she jumps for it. But Will Traynor is very rude to her from the start. She has six months to convince him he has something worth living for.

me_before_youI love the quote: “The thing about being catapulted into a whole new life–or at least shoved up so hard against someone else’s life that you might as well have your face pressed against their window–is that it forces you to rethink your idea of who you are. Or how you might seem to other people.”

I was pretty disappointed in the amount of cursing in this book but take that out and it is quite lovely. I’m sorry I just don’t think the language is nesessarry. (I guess that’s why I gear toward christian-themed books)

While there are beautiful quotes like the one above, there areΒ also not so thought-provoking ones. Like the overused line: I let out the breath I didn’t know I was holding. Yes, there is one of these beauties in here. I just had to put the book down a second and sigh. I really don’t get that line. Maybe someday someone will explain to me why authors use it.

So after reading this book, I will never really see life the same way again. I love it when a book does that! I will forever look at a croissant and weep a little inside.

The wedding bit was so incredible. I love how Louisa sat on Will’s lap and let him spin her around the dance floor. So sweet! And the vacation they took at the end was wonderful. (There was a small part of me that would not have minded if Lousisa ended up with Nathan.)

The real thought-provoking question is this (warning, spoiler ahead if you have not read the book!!!):

Was Will being selfish in deciding to kill himself? Should his family let him do so? Would it be OK in this case? After some thought I decided it was quite selfish of him to want to die when he could have just as good a life (granted a painful and sick one) with the people he loves. His family did everything in their power to make him change his mind and failed (due to Will’s stubborness). So even though it was wrong, I am glad they were there at the last to support him.

I’d love to hear other thoughts if you have read the book already. There were many tears shed right at the end of this book. So if you need a good cry, this is the one to read.

If you like reading books I would LOVE it if you chose to follow my blog. More reviews in the Hagenheim series and a book to movie review of Me Before You is coming soon!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

