Book Review: The Princess Spy

Continuing on with Rose and Wilhelm’s children, we get to hear the story of their daughter Margaretha in Melanie Dickerson’s fifth book in the Hagenheim series. This story is a retelling of the Princess and the Frog. the-princess-spyMargaretha is a true romantic, and very talkative. She hopes that her new suitor, Lord Claybrook, is her true love and she can live close to her family. Untill a strange injured man is brough to the castle claiming to be an English Lord who was left for dead by Claybrook’s men. But Margaretha doesn’t believe him. And another problem: He doesn’t speak German, and Margeretha only knows a little English. Somehow, Margaretha and Colin have to save her family from sudden danger.

Colin, a decendent from Lord Ranulf and Annabel, is trying to track down Lord Claybrook and enact his revenge. But Margaretha doesn’t seem to understand his urgency. Plus, her constant talking is rather annoying. However, she is the only one who can help him save her family.

It took me a while to really get into this book. This one took me the longest to finish. But the last half-ish of the book was impossible to put down. Full of secret tunnels and survival, this story keeps you on your toes.

Out of all the girls in the series, I think that I can relate the most to Margaretha. I think our personalities are very similar so I could understand her struggles a little more. Although I am probably more introverted than Margaretha.

Margaretha’s cousin was literally the worst! But then again, she is decended from Wilhelm’s brother.

I loved how strong the women of the book were. Even in the face of near death, they drew courage to save their kingdom and their family.

One thing I thought was…off? Wilhelm seems different from the first book. I don’t see his personality come through too much. I mean, I know the book isn’t even about him but still.

I highly recommend this book to anyone. I gave the book a 4 out of 5 star rating.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

